What it costs to have it done
What tradespeople charge for the jobs BuildBatch plans, as published by the sites named under each figure. BuildBatch does not survey trades: every figure is the publisher's, with the date their page gave and the day it was read here.
Rates differ by region, by the state of the room and by who you ask. Use these to judge a quote, not instead of one: ask two or three tradespeople, and ask whether materials and VAT are included. The materials are a separate list: each job below links to the planner that works them out.
Checking a quote against these figures
Compare like with like. Beside each figure it says whether it is for the labour only or takes in the materials, and whether VAT is in it, as the publisher's page says. A quote with the paint, paper or tiles in it, or with VAT, is higher than a labour-only figure for the same work.
What makes a quote higher than a plain job:
- more surfaces: woodwork (skirting, doors, frames) and ceilings as well as walls;
- more preparation: filling, sanding, stripping old paper, or a mist coat on new plaster;
- more cutting: wallpaper with a large pattern repeat, tiles laid on the diagonal or in herringbone, or a small room;
- taking up the old floor or tiles and taking them away;
- where you live: London and the South East cost more;
- VAT, if the tradesperson is registered for it.
Ask for the quote in writing, with the labour and the materials apart; which surfaces it covers and how many coats; whether VAT is in it; how long the job takes; and what happens, and at what price, if more work turns up once it starts. Which? also advises agreeing any extra work in writing.
Painter and decorator, by the day
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £230 to £355 per day | Decorator's day rate; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £280 to £460 per day | Decorator's day rate; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £150 to £200 per day | Painter's day rate, excluding VAT. | HomeBuilding & Renovating, page dated 2 February 2023, read 3 October 2026. Old: due for a check |
| £150 to £250 per day | Labour only; paint separate. | MyJobQuote, page dated 17 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £250 to £350 per day | Labour only; paint separate. | MyJobQuote, page dated 17 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £100 to £250 per day | Labour only, excluding VAT. | Rated People, page dated 28 September 2023, read 3 October 2026. Old: due for a check |
Painting a room (walls and ceiling)
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £450 per room | Medium room, preparation, painting and finishing; materials and VAT not stated. | Bark, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £400 to £550 per room | Standard bedroom; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £480 to £700 per room | Standard bedroom; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £400 per room | A professional to decorate an average room; materials and VAT not stated. | HomeBuilding & Renovating, page dated 2 February 2023, read 3 October 2026. Old: due for a check |
| £250 to £400 per room | Labour only; paint about £35 to £200 extra. | MyJobQuote, page dated 17 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £350 to £660 per room | Labour only; paint about £45 to £275 extra. | MyJobQuote, page dated 17 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £450 to £950 per room | Excluding VAT; paint and supplies typically included. | Rated People, page dated 28 September 2023, read 3 October 2026. Old: due for a check |
| £200 to £900 per room | Labour and materials, excluding VAT; walls and ceiling, two coats. | Which?, page dated 1 May 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £250 to £1,100 per room | Labour and materials, excluding VAT; walls and ceiling, two coats. | Which?, page dated 1 May 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £350 to £1,650 per room | Labour and materials, excluding VAT; walls and ceiling, two coats. | Which?, page dated 1 May 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
Hanging wallpaper
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £150 to £400 per day | Labour, excluding materials. | Bark, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £20 to £45 per roll | Hanging only, paper separate; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £30 to £60 per roll | Hanging only, paper separate; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £150 to £250 per day | Labour only; paper extra. | HomeBuilding & Renovating, page dated 8 May 2025, read 3 October 2026. |
| £500 to £600 per room | Labour only; paper extra. | HomeBuilding & Renovating, page dated 8 May 2025, read 3 October 2026. |
| £200 to £300 per day | Labour, tools and clean-up; materials and paper excluded. | Local Brush, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £35 to £60 per roll | Hanging only. | Local Brush, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £80 to £150 per roll | Hanging only. | Local Brush, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £100 to £150 per day | Labour only, straightforward jobs. | MyJobQuote, page dated 27 August 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £10 to £12 per m² | Labour only, clean walls; paper excluded. | MyJobQuote, page dated 27 August 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £120 to £180 per room | Labour only; paper excluded. | MyJobQuote, page dated 27 August 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £300 to £400 per room | Labour only; paper excluded. | MyJobQuote, page dated 27 August 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £500 to £650 per room | Labour only; paper excluded. | MyJobQuote, page dated 27 August 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £250 to £500 per room | Labour only. | Novitas Decorators, page dated 1 June 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £165 to £385 per room | Labour, excluding VAT. | Rated People, page dated 28 September 2023, read 3 October 2026. Old: due for a check |
| £260 to £2,950 per room | Labour and materials except the paper, excluding VAT; lining and papering. | Which?, page dated 1 May 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
Wall tiling
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £30 to £45 per m² | Labour; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £38 to £58 per m² | Labour; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £20 to £40 per m² | Labour only; tiles separate. | MyJobQuote, page dated 7 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £25 to £50 per m² | Labour; tiles separate. | Pricing Penguin, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
Floor tiling
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £25 to £40 per m² | Labour; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £30 to £52 per m² | Labour; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £15 to £25 per m² | Labour only. | MyJobQuote, page dated 20 July 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £30 to £60 per m² | Labour; tiles separate. | Pricing Penguin, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
Laying laminate flooring
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £12 to £20 per m² | Labour only. | BookaBuilderUK, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £15 to £30 per m² | Fitting; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £20 to £38 per m² | Fitting; figures include VAT where applicable. | Fantastic Services, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £4 to £8 per m² | Installation labour. | Flooring Around, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £10 to £40 per m² | Labour only, underlay excluded. | MyJobQuote, page dated 9 July 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
Fitting carpet
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £3 to £12 per m² | Fitting only; carpet and underlay not included. | Best4Flooring, page dated 12 March 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £5 to £12 per m² | Labour only. | BookaBuilderUK, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £3 to £6 per m² | Installation: underlay, seaming and fitting. | Flooring Around, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £60 to £80 per room | Labour only, a simple room. | MyJobQuote, page dated 14 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
Fitting skirting board
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £8 to £15 per metre | Fitted, labour and materials together. | BookaBuilderUK, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £12 to £20 per metre | Fitted, labour and materials together. | BookaBuilderUK, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £250 to £450 per room | Fitted, labour and materials together. | BookaBuilderUK, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £75 to £150 per room | Labour only, skirting and architrave. | MyJobQuote, page dated 2 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £150 to £200 per room | Labour only, skirting and architrave. | MyJobQuote, page dated 2 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £200 to £300 per room | Labour only, skirting and architrave. | MyJobQuote, page dated 2 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £15 to £25 per metre | Labour and materials. | Pricing Penguin, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £203 to £342 per room | Supply and fit softwood, excluding VAT. | Which? Trusted Traders, page dated 1 January 2021, read 3 October 2026. Old: due for a check |
Plasterboarding
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £200 to £250 per day | Labour (the page's wording is unclear about materials). | HomeBuilding & Renovating, page dated 27 October 2023, read 3 October 2026. Old: due for a check |
| £180 to £250 per day | Installer's day rate. | MyJobQuote, page dated 17 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £8 to £14 per m² | Labour only, standard walls. | MyJobQuote, page dated 17 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £15 to £19 per m² | Labour only, with taping and jointing. | MyJobQuote, page dated 17 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £200 to £350 per day | Per dryliner per day. | Trade2Base, page dated 8 June 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £12 to £22 per m² | Labour; board and adhesive extra. | Trade2Base, page dated 8 June 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £15 to £30 per m² | Labour, ceiling boards only. | Trade2Base, page dated 8 June 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
Laying loft insulation
| Rate | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| £220 to £300 per day | Labour per tradesperson per day. | BookaBuilderUK, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £130 to £200 per day | Labour per tradesperson per day. | BookaBuilderUK, page not dated, read 3 October 2026. |
| £250 per day | Labour per day, plus VAT. | HomeOwners Alliance, page dated 23 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £825 per loft | Average cost, plus VAT; whether labour is included is not said. | HomeOwners Alliance, page dated 23 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £654 per loft | Average cost, plus VAT; whether labour is included is not said. | HomeOwners Alliance, page dated 23 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £1,206 per loft | Average cost, plus VAT; whether labour is included is not said. | HomeOwners Alliance, page dated 23 September 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £150 to £250 per day | Labour day rate. | MyJobQuote, page dated 18 August 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £500 to £1,200 per loft | Materials and labour. | MyJobQuote, page dated 18 August 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
| £450 to £1,200 per loft | Labour for the whole job. | Rated People, page dated 16 March 2023, read 3 October 2026. Old: due for a check |
| £250 to £450 per day | Labour per day, any size of house. | The Eco Experts, page dated 18 August 2026, read 3 October 2026. |
How this directory is kept
The figures are copied by hand from public cost guides, with the address each was read at, and checked again from time to time. Nobody pays to be listed, and no figure is BuildBatch's own estimate or an average of ours. If a figure is wrong or out of date, or you know a better source, tell us.