Tikkurila Optiva Primer
Primer, undercoat and sealer · Tikkurila · Primer
Tikkurila Optiva Primer comes in 900 ml, 2.7 L and 9 L. The catalogue holds no coverage figure of the maker's for it yet.
- Coats
- No single numberthe document read gives none
- Tin sizes
- 900 ml, 2.7 L, 9 L3 sizes in the catalogue
What it is for
In the maker's own words. A primer, undercoat or sealer goes where the surface needs it, which may be a whole wall of new plaster or drywall or only bare or stained patches, so this page gives no number of tins for a room: measure what you are priming and use the figures below. The planner counts the paint over it, not the primer.
“Waterborne,deep matt acrylic primer for interior walls and ceilings”
Where to buy it
The shops' own searches for it. BuildBatch sells nothing and compares no prices.
Search the shops for Tikkurila Optiva Primer
- Amazon UK, opens in a new tab
- B&Q, opens in a new tab
- Homebase, opens in a new tab
- Screwfix, opens in a new tab
- Toolstation, opens in a new tab
- Wickes, opens in a new tab
Each link opens that shop’s own search for this product, in a new tab. BuildBatch earns nothing from these links. BuildBatch does not know whether a shop has it, or what it costs there today.
Coats
The document read for this page gives no number of coats for Tikkurila Optiva Primer. BuildBatch does not guess one: the tin table shows one coat and two side by side, and each coat covers the same surface again. Follow the tin's own instructions.
Tin sizes
- 900 ml tin
- 2.7 L tin
- 9 L tin
Questions about Tikkurila Optiva Primer
How many coats does Tikkurila Optiva Primer need?
The document read for this page gives no number of coats for Tikkurila Optiva Primer. Follow the tin's own instructions.
What is Tikkurila Optiva Primer for?
Tikkurila says: “Waterborne,deep matt acrylic primer for interior walls and ceilings” (Tikkurila Optiva Primer product data sheet, read 12 October 2026).
What tin sizes does Tikkurila Optiva Primer come in?
The catalogue lists 900 ml, 2.7 L and 9 L. A shop may not stock every size.
Other primers
In alphabetical order, with each maker's own figures. A maker measures its coverage its own way, so the figures are not a test of one paint against another. Every product under primer, undercoat and sealer.
Armstead Trade Quick Dry Wood Primer Undercoat
Armstead Trade · Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 1 L, 2.5 L and 5 L
Valspar Difficult Surfaces Primer & Undercoat
Valspar · Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 750 ml and 2.5 L
Valspar Universal Primer & Undercoat
Valspar · Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 750 ml and 2.5 L
Valspar Wood Primer & Undercoat
Valspar · Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 750 ml and 2.5 L
More from Tikkurila
3 of the 16 other Tikkurila products in the catalogue, by name. All Tikkurila products.
Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 900 ml and 2.7 L
Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 225 ml, 900 ml and 2.7 L
Tikkurila Otex Adhesion Primer
Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 333 ml, 900 ml, 2.7 L, 9 L and 18 L
Where the figures come from
- What it is for: Tikkurila, Tikkurila Optiva Primer product data sheet. Read on 12 October 2026.
This page was written with AI tools from the maker's own documents; it is not yet checked by a tradesperson. The figures are the maker's, and a maker's figure is their best case: follow the tin's own instructions.
- Paint coverage per litre: what a figure per litre means, and how to read the one on a tin.
- How many coats of paint do I need?: when two coats are enough, and what a third costs in litres.
- How far does a tin of paint go?: what 1, 2.5, 5 and 10 litre tins cover at three coverages.
- Mist coat ratio for new plaster: why bare plaster takes more paint than any figure on a tin.
- What you need to paint a room: everything else the job takes, from filler to dust sheets.
- Paint calculator: the litres and tins for a coverage of your own.
- How we compare products: what “worked out” and “Ad” mean on these pages.