Macpherson Undercoat
Primer, undercoat and sealer · Macpherson · Undercoat
Macpherson Undercoat comes in 1 L, 2.5 L and 5 L. The catalogue holds no coverage figure of the maker's for it yet.
- Coats
- No single numberthe maker gives none: its words are below
- Tin sizes
- 1 L, 2.5 L, 5 L3 sizes in the catalogue
What it is for
In the maker's own words. A primer, undercoat or sealer goes where the surface needs it, which may be a whole wall of new plaster or drywall or only bare or stained patches, so this page gives no number of tins for a room: measure what you are priming and use the figures below. The planner counts the paint over it, not the primer.
“Macpherson Undercoat helps you get the most from Macpherson Gloss”
Where to buy it
The shops' own searches for it. BuildBatch sells nothing and compares no prices.
Search the shops for Macpherson Undercoat
- Amazon UK, opens in a new tab
- B&Q, opens in a new tab
- Homebase, opens in a new tab
- Screwfix, opens in a new tab
- Toolstation, opens in a new tab
- Wickes, opens in a new tab
Each link opens that shop’s own search for this product, in a new tab. BuildBatch earns nothing from these links. BuildBatch does not know whether a shop has it, or what it costs there today.
Coats
Macpherson gives no single number of coats for Macpherson Undercoat. What it does say is below, in its own words. BuildBatch does not guess one: the tin table shows one coat and two side by side, and each coat covers the same surface again. Follow the tin's own instructions.
“Apply one or two coats as required”
Tin sizes
- 1 L tin
- 2.5 L tin
- 5 L tin
Questions about Macpherson Undercoat
How many coats does Macpherson Undercoat need?
Macpherson gives no single number of coats for Macpherson Undercoat. Its words: “Apply one or two coats as required”. Follow the tin's own instructions.
What is Macpherson Undercoat for?
Macpherson says: “Macpherson Undercoat helps you get the most from Macpherson Gloss” (Macpherson Undercoat data sheet (dated January 2016), read 12 October 2026).
What tin sizes does Macpherson Undercoat come in?
The catalogue lists 1 L, 2.5 L and 5 L. A shop may not stock every size.
Other undercoats
In alphabetical order, with each maker's own figures. A maker measures its coverage its own way, so the figures are not a test of one paint against another. Every product under primer, undercoat and sealer.
Armstead Trade · Undercoat
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 1 L, 2.5 L and 5 L
Crown Trade · Undercoat
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 1 L, 2.5 L and 5 L
Crown Trade Next Generation Plus Undercoat
Crown Trade · Undercoat
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 1 L, 2.5 L and 5 L
Dulux · Undercoat
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 750 ml, 1.25 L and 2.5 L
More from Macpherson
3 of the 13 other Macpherson products in the catalogue, by name. All Macpherson products.
Macpherson Acrylic Primer Undercoat
Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 1 L, 2.5 L and 5 L
Macpherson Quick Dry Acrylic Primer Undercoat
Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 1 L, 2.5 L and 5 L
Primer
- Coverage
- not stated here
- Tins
- 2.5 L and 5 L
Where the figures come from
- What it is for and its words on coats: Macpherson, Macpherson Undercoat data sheet (dated January 2016). Read on 12 October 2026.
This page was written with AI tools from the maker's own documents; it is not yet checked by a tradesperson. The figures are the maker's, and a maker's figure is their best case: follow the tin's own instructions.
- Paint coverage per litre: what a figure per litre means, and how to read the one on a tin.
- How many coats of paint do I need?: when two coats are enough, and what a third costs in litres.
- How far does a tin of paint go?: what 1, 2.5, 5 and 10 litre tins cover at three coverages.
- Mist coat ratio for new plaster: why bare plaster takes more paint than any figure on a tin.
- What you need to paint a room: everything else the job takes, from filler to dust sheets.
- Paint calculator: the litres and tins for a coverage of your own.
- How we compare products: what “worked out” and “Ad” mean on these pages.